Registered Members Login:

Forgotten Your Details? Click Here To Recover +
Welcome To The ShareCafe Community - Talk Shares And Take Stock With Smart Investors - New Here? Click To Register >

Reply to this topic

which trading platform is good
BSA
post Posted: Oct 13 2009, 08:59 AM
  Quote Post

In Reply To: axeman's post @ Oct 13 2009, 01:02 AM

I don't know what some of the other platforms are like, I tried MaqPrime and its was a flea bitten dog.
I have been using Iress for about 8 years and feel if you can use a broker that offers Iress and if the small monthly fee is acceptable then its well worth it!!

Cheers

--------------------

axeman
post Posted: Oct 13 2009, 01:02 AM
  Quote Post

In Reply To: BSA's post @ Oct 12 2009, 11:25 PM

I agree with you 100%, but i would not pay $50 a trade with direct shares for example, but I'm not complaining at $32, as i bank with St George anyway, and the platform is quite good IMO.

I could save a few dollars and go with Bell direct for example, but the platform looks quite no frills as i mentioned, and my bank account is not linked. My mate trades with the Commonwealth platform for a few bucks less, and it dose not look as good as the direct shares platform.

Guess what I'm saying is price is important, considering the trading platform. I would not pay $30 a trade for Bell, and i would not pay $50 for direct shares, but at $32 direct shares is about right IMO.

And yes i saw the price ascendancy thing at the bottom, damn well needed my glasses for that one! LOL.

--------------------
Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

BSA
post Posted: Oct 12 2009, 11:25 PM
  Quote Post

In Reply To: axeman's post @ Oct 12 2009, 10:46 PM

Yes we all have different priorities, for me it is for any platform to be robust, reliable, dynamic data, lightning fast and lots of information available quickly, the price is secondary but of course a consideration.