S&P/ASX 200

ShareCafe

• Replies 5.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Has anyone here had much experience trading market tracking warrants? I'd be interested to try this out when my warrant/options trading account comes online. I'm new to derivatives and would enjoy chatting to anyone with some hands on experience.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew

I have just spent 8 months trading the SPI and it has been tough. The main problem has been the liquidity and the fact that it can be flicked around by large institutions that skew the market in the short term, away from its true value. I know my trading skills are reasonably good, however in the spi I felt I was really battling a greater foe. I am translating that experience and skill into CFD's where I can trade indeces and any of the top 200 shares and I can trade them short and long. This is very flexible and should not be subject to the same manipulation. In my 8 years experience as a stockbroker (and I traded warrants right from the beginning) I have found warrants to be ineffecient and subject to poor movements as new issues come on stream with differing strike prices and expiry dates etc. I hope this helps.

Hector (pete taylor)

Thanks Hector. Your thoughts are really appreciated. http://www.sharescene.com/html/emoticons/smile.gif I'm going to do a bit more research in to CFDs now. Do you have any tips or pointers?

Was there any kind of derivatives trading you found worked well and you enjoyed and profited from?

Regards

Andrew