Potash

Weej55

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey Wee

My response is consistent with that I posted previously regarding Phosphorus. The three so-called macronutrients required for plant growth are Nitrogen, Phosphorus and Potassium (NPK) which, together with Sulphur are required in the greatest quantity by plants. I concur fertiliser will be the big isssue of the future and like all things comes down to supply and demand. Phosphorus is arguably however THE most limiting nutrient in Australian soils due primarily to their old age and inherently deficient parent material. Having said that Nitrogen is the key driver of plant growth. I am an agronomist by profession so happy to provide some agronomic advice. Cheers Chum

Weej

POZ is into phosphate and iron, not potash, I think. Was not aware of them so thanks. Looks like they will line up behind Minemakers and Legend. I see that Legend is really promoting themselves at the moment in the US, I half suspect because Mr Gutnick and his family can spruik its advantages more easily from a distance than locally where its disadvantages would be more obvious. If Andrew Drummond of MAK can not get the Windorah project up and running then you would think Phosphate Australia would also stuggle (based on MAK having a hard-start, having better proximity to transport and no need for benefication of its start-up phospate). But definitely one for me to keep in mind.

ELM is into potash in Africa, true. Actually in the Republic of the Congo, as distinct from the neighbouring Democratic Republic of the Congo. The latter shows all the signs of being a total waste of effort.

http://abcnews.go.com/ThisWeek/rebels-rape...ory?id=11491087

Not sure about the Republic of the Congo but recent history and nearology is enough to scare me off.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/th...ok/geos/cf.html