Discount Brokers

Canava

I'm primarily using a Westpac for most of my trading. Unfortunately I took up the offer of Margin Loan with BT Margin Lending and have experienced a myriad of problems.

One example was today, when straight through processing between them went down. As a result, I came out on the worst side of a trade.

So my question is can anyone recommend a good discount broker?

What are other people's experiences?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

QUOTE (Canava @ Wed 24/03/04 08:14pm)
IN REPLY TO A POST BY Canava, Wed 24/03/04 08:14pm

I have to say at he beginning I am a newbie at all this. but am certainly enjoying the experience

I haven't been trading long , about 12 months , and I must say I haven't had any problems with westpac.. I have a friend who is what I would term a fairly active trader , ie a couple of trades a month , and he is V.happy with CommSec, and they are certainly cheaper than westpac , as well as a better, if more 'cluttered' site than Westpac IMHO.

I hope this helps.

IN REPLY TO A POST BY Pat the Rat, Wed 24/03/04 08:34pm

Pat

Thanks for the feedback.

Agree westpac as a stand alone proposition is fine.

I used to have a westpac margin loan account and it was excellent. However, when Westpac bought Bt Margin Lending and closed their own margin lending facility, I found the new arrangement a horror experience.

I'll certainly take your advice on commsec

While this comment/broker won't be relevant to most of readers (as I'm in NZ, although do most of trading on ASX) (Why do I trade on ASX, ? Simple, NZ has been overtaken by greenies, whereby one can't fart without the necessary approvals...............as a consequence NZ has next to no exploration industry) But I digress, I trade with Access Brokerage (Flat $29.50 AUD per trade, no research, nor stop loss facilities etc, just o good basic trading platform. (Don't know how compares with Comsec ?, etc )